IEEE CAS is pleased to congratulate the following recipients of the 2018 IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Awards. The Society is especially proud and happy to honor their outstanding accomplishments and we look forward to their continued involvement and close contact with CAS.

See award winners and fellows from previous years 

Mac Van Valkenburg Award
Angel Rodríguez-Vázquez
for fundamental contributions to mixed-signal chip architectures for smart imaging, vision and 2-D data processing

Charles A. Desoer Technical Achievement Award
Vivek De
for pioneering contributions to leading-edge performance and energy-efficient microprocessors & many-core system-on-chip (SoC) designs

John Choma Education Award
Dr. John Cohn
for successful evangelizing of the essential role of STEM education 

Meritorious Service Award
David Allstot
for exceptional long-term service and dedication to the interests of the CAS Society

Industrial Pioneer Award
Dr. Ulrich L. Rohde
for pioneering contributions, implementation, and manufacturing of state-of-the-art electronic circuits and systems for the application in Modern Radio Communications Systems

Circuits and Systems for Video Technology Best Paper Award

Han Hu, Yonggang Wen, Tat-Seng Chua, Jian Huang, Wenwu Zhu, Xuelong Li
Joint Content Replication and Request Routing for Social Video Distribution Over Cloud CDN: A Community Clustering Method” IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology (Volume: 26, Issue: 7, July 2016)

Very Large Scale Integration Systems Best Paper Award

Jason Kamran Eshraghian, Jr., Kyoungrok Cho, Ciyan Zheng, Minho Nam, Herbert Ho-Ching Iu, Wen Lei, Kamran Eshraghian
"Neuromorphic Vision Hybrid RRAM-CMOS Architecture" IEEE Transactions on Very Large Scale Integration (VLSI) Systems (Volume: 26, Issue: 12, Dec. 2018)

Biomedical Circuits and Systems Best Paper Award

Fabio Pareschi, Pierluigi Albertini, Giovanni Frattini, Mauro Mangia, Riccardo Rovatti, Gianluca Setti

"Hardware-Algorithms Co-Design and Implementation of an Analog-to-Information Converter for Biosignals Based on Compressed Sensing’', IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems (Volume: 10, Issue: 1, Feb. 2016)

Outstanding Young Author Award
Abhronil Sengupta, et al.
"Proposal for an All-Spin Artificial Neural Network: Emulating Neural and Synaptic Functionalities Through Domain Wall Motion in Ferromagnets" IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems ( Volume: 10, Issue: 6, Dec. 2016 )

Pre-Doctoral Scholarship
Olga Krestinskaya

Chapter of the Year Award
Singapore Chapter
Chapter Chair, Lin Zhiping

Regions 1-7 Chapter of the Year Award
Santa Clara Valley Chapter
Chapter Chair, Imran Bashir

Region 8 Chapter of the Year
Spain Chapter
Chapter Chair, Antonio Lopez

Region 10 Chapter of the Year
Shanghai Chapter
Chapter Chair, Liu Peilin

The following awards were not given in 2019:
Vitold Belevitch Circuits and Systems Award
Guillemin-Cauer Best Paper Award
Darlington Best Paper Award
Region 9 Chapter of the Year